Ballast Point: Calm Before the Storm

This beer has a badass label. I’ll give it that.

Won’t give it much more though. It’s got a toffee color to it. But not a vibrant color. It honestly looked like the beer was sick. It smelled like the hint of vanilla mentioned in on the label (coffee/vanilla). But all I was getting in taste was coffee. And bitter coffee at that. Like coffee that’s been left on the burner too long. It certainly wasn’t the best experience. The beer had a great mouth feel though, and I ended up liking it more after I finished than when I started. Still, there’s not much to entice me to buy it anymore. Even on draft.

2 out of 4 stars. Would drink a free pint.

Leave a Reply

