Lagunitas: Brown Shugga

I’ve been dying to get my hands on this one because I love the substitute so very much.

Brown Shugga doesn’t disappoint, but it neither elevates either. It pours a nice amber color with minimal carbonation. The smell is quite funky to my amateur nose. Like they’re using Brett yeast or something. The taste is definitely unique. I can’t seem to nail it down anywhere. On the one hand it’s got the funky aftertaste I associate with double or imperial IPAs. But then you’ll be hit by a blast of brown sugar that tastes just oh so good.

I think the best part of the beer is when it’s released. Winter. Because at 9.8% it will keep you quite warm.

3 out of 4 stars. Would buy a pint.

Leave a Reply

