Stone: Arrogant Bastard Ale

This is one of those beers that seems famous even if you haven’t really heard anything about it. It’s a great name and I do love the cheeky “you’re not worthy” paragraphs of copy that decorate the back, but I do not love the beer.

Arrogant Bastard pours a deep amber red. Kind of like if you mixed all the colors on the can itself. Hop aromas hit you pretty quickly and if you let it, the beer will retain a pretty big head. It’s described as an American Strong Ale, but in my book that almost always means a version of an IPA. It’s hoppy and funky in equal measures. At 7.2% it’s definitely a worthy 6pack of 16 ounce brewskies. But ultimately, I guess I wasn’t worthy enough. I didn’t really enjoy this beer until I was already buzzed. Maybe at one point it stood out from the crowd, but now it’s just part of the crowd.

2 1/2 out of 4 stars. Would accept as a gift.

Leave a Reply

